The SA Annual Ball 2018 started with a harmony of notes and instruments that rhymed to the exciting soundtracks from three major films: “How to Train Your Dragon”, “Enchanted”, and “Avengers”, performed by our very own UNMC Orchestra.

Our emcee for the night was none other than Ali Wail, who also won the Oscar award for Best Male Personality, unsurprisingly with his witty jokes and charming smile!

Music kept everyone company as the night went on, with guest performances by our students Khairul Anuar, Kareshma and Leo.

The 24-Drums didn’t shy away from the spotlight either with their spot-on rhythmic beats!

After the opening speeches by Professor Graham Kendall (Provost) and Ehab Mohammed Ashraf (Head of Ball), the Oscars were awarded throughout the night for the following categories:

Staff Oscars

Best FYP / Dissertation Supervisor: Jessica Price

Best Teacher / RA: Alfred Lim Chee Keong

Best Lecturer for Academic Feedback: Nishanth Chemmangattuvalappil

Most High-Tech Lecturer: Mustafa Al-Shagga

Most Captivating Lecturer: Vivek Thuppil

Most Inspiring Lecturer: Shivani Sivagurunathan

Best All-Rounder Lecturer: Vengadeshvaran Sarma

Best Personal Tutor: Alice Cin Kong

Best School/Department: School of Psychology

Best Support Staff (Students’ Association, Sports Complex): Mohd Shazereen Kamarudin (SA Office)

Best Support Staff (Careers, IT, ADRO, Student Registry, Finance): Kevin Lim (Careers)

Best Welfare Support Staff (Well-being, Accommodation, Security, Visa): Revathi Gopal (Well-being)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Svenja Hanson


Clubs and Societies Oscars

Financial Growth: Rotaract Club

Most Active CS: AIESEC

Biggest Contribution to Student Body: ACE

Best Cultural Society: Japanese Society

Best Academic Society: PharmNotts

Best Upcoming Society: Philosophy Society

Best Student Campus Experience: Nottingham Dance Club

Best Contribution to Community: ACE

Best Society: IEMSS


Student Oscars

Best Personality (Male): Ali Wail

Best Personality (Female): Karyn Teck

Best Dressed Male of the Year: Baktiyar Badar

Best Dressed Female of the Year: Afreen Fathima

Best Couple: Nauman and Vidhushi

Most Likely to become a Billionaire: Pranav Rawlani

Joker of the Year: Rayan Abid

Best Dressed of the Night: Hasan Isam Elfaki

Mr. Nottingham: Ehab Asyraf

Ms. Nottingham: Tormalli Vigilia Francis



The evening ended with a free-for-all dance floor with the top songs playing, all nominated by our students!

For many who attended, this will be the last ball before they graduate and move on to their next chapter in life.

It was a night full of wonder, laughter and fantastic food!

More importantly, it was a night of the stars, and truthfully enough, everyone shone brightly before the flashing cameras!

Link to photos below: